Skip to content

Launches & VBS

June 2, 2008

WOW. This Sunday I watched a spectacular launch on NASA TV. At 4:02 PM central, the space shuttle Discovery flew into the skies with 7 crew members, one of which named Karen Nyberg. Karen actually lives only a few hours away from me, in Minnesota. She’s great! Yesterday I watched the first crew interveiws, but today I missed the Rendevous Pitch Maneuver and the docking with the ISS. (Opus, did you happen to catch that?) Anyways, about VBS,

Today Vacation Bible School started in my town. I’ve gone there every year since I was old enough, and now that I’m too old I help out. Last year was a nightmare. I was with 4th grade, and there was only two girls. The rest were extremely-too-hyper-totally-don’t-need-more-sugar 9 YEAR OLDS. AHHHH. I was glad I was only helping out, because the teacher, whose name was Stephanie, was really having a bad time. Worst of all was that the most crazy kid of all was her nephew, who felt that he knew her well enough to totally disobey her. Eventually she had to call in the pastor. The whole time the pastor was talking to him, he sat in a chair pouting with his arms crossed. Well, I lived through THAT nightmare, and so far this year has been a dream! I got Pre-K and Kindergarten, and all those kids actually listen. And they all love me. Well, one of them is my baby brother, and OF COURSE he loves me, but you know, they always want me to hold them, and they do what I say… Sorry. I’m probably boring you guys out of your wits. Hey, if you’ve read this whole post, email me. 🙂 stellar95@gmail.com.

 

Oh, and speaking of which, when I asked you guys how your Memorial Day went, and I got an entry!! Here it is!

Dear Steller,
Hiya Stella! It’s Opus! I had a great memorial weekend! First, Me and me Dad went and saw the Air show where they had the Reenactment of the bombing of Pearl Harbor, With explosives!, and then did all sorts of stunts and we got to go inside war planes and then at the end they used up the rest of the explosives and made a explosion as big as the A-Bomb. Then we went to Best Buy and bought the “Complete Monty Python Flying Circus Series” And we watched alot of that, Then we saw the new Indiana Jones,Which was not as good as the Third which is my favorite with Shawn Connery, The best was the part of the A-Bomb dropping on a fake town while Indiana was there in the town. If you have not seen it i Won’t spoil the ending or the rest. I hope you had a great Memorial Weekend and did not get a sunburn in the process. Have a great summer and a Wonderful year!
                    Your Friend,
                                        Opus

 

I’m glad you had a good time, Opus. Thanks for entering!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2008 3:56 pm

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    We don’t have spoace stuff showing down here. It sounds interesting though!

  2. June 2, 2008 3:58 pm

    I’m sorry. Ican’t send any e-mails until Mum makes an account WITHOUT my real name. Sorry!!!!!!!!!!!
    Crys

  3. June 2, 2008 4:57 pm

    I actually read a comment from Australia on the NASA website. They said they’d seen it. If you were up and not sleeping at the right time, maybe you could see it for real.

  4. June 2, 2008 4:57 pm

    Yup i saw it. It was an awesome site wasn’t it? Discovery is a cool name and luckily nothing bad happened!

  5. June 3, 2008 2:16 am

    I saw pictures in the Newspaper a few days ago about the space shuttle that landed on Mars. Pretty cool stuff!

    I read the whole post, but can’t be bothered emailing, lol. Glad to see you have fun teaching at the Bible School. And, when I have time (if I have time) in th enext few days, I’ll enter your header contest.

    ~Josh

  6. June 3, 2008 10:44 am

    Josh, actually, it wasn’t a space shuttle that landed on Mars. It was an un-manned lander. I don’t think a shuttle could land on Mars.. yes, VERY cool stuff. Glad you saw it, Opus. I missed the RPM, the docking, AND the first spacewalk. 😦

  7. June 3, 2008 10:45 am

    Hey, Opus, do you ever watch NASA TV?

  8. June 3, 2008 11:32 am

    NASA TV is fun. I love hearing the guys having a monolog like the whole time.

  9. June 3, 2008 5:44 pm

    I watch it!

  10. June 3, 2008 7:05 pm

    I don’t really like space!

  11. June 4, 2008 7:08 am

    🙂 That’s all right, Crys. What do you like??

Leave a Reply

