Skip to content

The Fragility of Life

November 15, 2008

This morning I was saddened with the news that a family friend of ours (whose name I won’t post here) died Wednesday. There was no cause of death. He didn’t have heart problems and wasn’t sick. His heart just stopped. I can’t help but wonder whether his wife would rather have had a reason for him to be taken away rather than nothing. I know I would. I guess my first normal post back here is going to be a deep one. It got me to thinking- we only  have a limited time here on Earth. Why do we waste it?? What good is it wasting your short lifetime, even making it shorter on drugs? The person that died was only 64. He had a good 40 years left to live…. but I am sure with all of my heart that he is overjoyed in heaven right now- all you’d have to do was read his obituary in “The Free Press” to know that. My message is this-

LIFE IS SO, SO SHORT. DON’T WASTE IT!!

Later, when you die, are you going to regret what you did and didn’t do?? Prevent those regrets.

And now, to more happy news.

Yesterday, at 6:55 PM  CST, the space shuttle Endeavour lifted off from Kennedy Space Center in Florida for the International Space Station. It was a spectacular night launch that I enjoyed very much. It was even on CNN. I am very happy to say that one of the astronauts aboard was from my home state, Minnesota, (her name was Heidemarie, I think). Last year, on STS-124, there was another astronaut from MN, whom I liked very much. Her name was Karen Nyberg.

Soon, NASA will post the video on their website, (www.nasa.gov) and if you’d like to see it in HD, go to www.nasa.gov/multimedia/hd/index.html. Also, sometimes during the day you can see live footage of the astronauts aboard the Space Station and the shuttle. Sometimes you can hear the astronauts communicating with Houston. It’s pretty cool. Here’s the link : www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/index.html. Tomorrow, maybe if you are watching NASA TV, you can see Endeavour docking with the Space Station. It’s completely awesome. And, if you have ANY idea what I’m talking about (to you it probably sounds like space jibberish) you can see the Rendezvous Pitch Maneuver. (If you really want to know, you can comment and ask me what it is.  I am full of space trivia. Blame Space Camp. )

Stellar A.

(Bye, and live your life to the fullest.)

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2008 7:22 am

    waaaa 😥 that made me depressed. ╫ Have fun in heaven person ╫ tht thing about the space shuttle was less depressing though…

  2. November 16, 2008 3:09 pm

    I’m sorry about that…I know how it feels to lose people close to you. I feel real bad for people in places like Africa where children die so young, never experiencing how awesome life is…

  3. November 16, 2008 3:36 pm

    oh, well thank you for bringing ANOTHER depressing thought into my head josh!

  4. November 16, 2008 8:03 pm

    How often dose ur posts make me depressed? Anyway, My thopughts & prayers are with ui thorughout this hard time. 😉

  5. November 16, 2008 11:16 pm

    Im sorry for your loss.
    Heres some jokes to make you cheer up:
    1.Whoever thought up Uranus’ name had a sense of humor.
    2.Once i looked up in the sky and saw many stars and thought “what the heck happened to my roof?”
    3.You Know god has a sense of humor. Just look at the silly things in life,wonder how they got there?
    I left out the death jokes for a future time for your inconvenience.
    (sorry if you dont get the way i wrote them. they were made for stand up comedy)

  6. November 17, 2008 2:07 pm

    🙂 Thanks, Opus!! And, thank you so much for your concern, but I didn’t know this guy THAT well. It didn’t bother me much, just got me to thinking. 🙂

  7. November 17, 2008 5:09 pm

    So i can say my death jokes?

  8. November 18, 2008 8:17 am

    I supose so!

  9. November 18, 2008 3:43 pm

    awweesssoommmee. I’ll make a post on it cause their long. (post will be at Narnia’s site)

  10. November 19, 2008 2:05 am

    🙂

  11. November 19, 2008 11:52 am

    🙂 Hey, you two were the only people who commented the whole day!

  12. November 19, 2008 3:15 pm

    😆 Is that good?

  13. November 20, 2008 2:52 am

    lol crys!

  14. November 20, 2008 5:50 am

    the last 12 comments in a row were on this post… yes, i counted 😛

  15. November 20, 2008 3:06 pm

    OMG! WURBURT CAN COUNT!

  16. November 21, 2008 1:38 am

    Wurburt can count?

  17. November 21, 2008 12:59 pm

    😆

  18. November 21, 2008 1:00 pm

    Death Jokes, Opus? Ooooh, alright.

  19. November 21, 2008 3:43 pm

    i can count???? omg i have to tell uncle!!
    LOL

  20. November 21, 2008 4:57 pm

    Can ‘ya teach me?

  21. November 22, 2008 6:30 am

    yea it goes 12abcdefghijklmnopqrtusvxwzy. tah da!

  22. November 24, 2008 12:51 pm

    🙂

Leave a Reply

