Skip to content

Presidents & Betterness!!

January 20, 2009

Guess what?? I’m feeling much, much better!! Isn’t that great?? I will be on WordPress a lot more often now! Which also means I’ll be posting more often!!

So, did you all watch the Presidential Inauguration? I did. I’ve never seen one before, (or at least that I remember) so this was my first time. Wow, that was crazy! There are some serious Obama fans out there! I really liked seeing Barack Obama take the Oath of Office, it’s something that makes me really glad I live in America, land of the free!!! Tell me what you thought. Were you there? Were you watching it on TV?? Were you watching at all? What was your favorite part? Any thoughts you’d like to share??

 

Stellar A.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 3:29 am

    Hiya! I’m Phi, Josh’s friend!

    … I didn’t actaully see the Inauguration…

  2. January 21, 2009 8:40 am

    I watched a review of it.
    It seems that Obama is a great person and that he really wants to heal the U.S.A.

    In the news they showed a little part of it. I like what he said, he seems to be a good guy!

  3. ζiρΦ7 permalink
    January 21, 2009 10:20 am

    Yes good news on your feeling great!

    Yes I watched the inauguration yestereday. It was one of the best I have ever seen! This man is a wordsmith. Even better than Clinton was and that is going some. His speech was captivating and made you feel if all was going to be right with the world. The USA has made a great leap of faith and has shown once again, all things are possible. Let’s just hope it can all be true.
    Here are some mind-boggling statistics on U.S. President-elect Barack Obama’s historic inauguration in Washington:
    * 5,000: The number of portable toilets to be distributed on the National Mall.

    * 10,000: The number of buses that city transportation and Secret Service officials expected to need to ferry people to Washington. Placed end to end, the buses would stretch 85 miles (137 km).

    * 240,000: That is how many tickets were distributed, free of charge, for the swearing-in ceremony on Capitol Hill.

    * 55: The number of previous presidential inaugurations.

    * 1.5 million: The number of people to view the inauguration from the National Mall. Hundreds of thousands more will pack Pennsylvania Avenue to watch the inaugural parade. The record was set during the 1965 inauguration of Lyndon B. Johnson, when 1.2 million people attended.

    * $8,249 (5,995 pounds): The price of a seat at the swearing-in ceremony being advertised by one online ticket broker.

    * 850: Washington’s Metro rail service had that many rail cars, capable of carrying 120,000 people every hour, operating between 4 a.m. and 9 p.m. on the day.

    * 8,000: Some 4,000 city police officers were deployed along with 4,000 from 96 other law enforcement agencies across the country.

    * 32,000: The total number of military personnel who were on duty or on standby for the inauguration.

    AMAZING isn’t it!!!! 🙂

  4. January 21, 2009 11:30 am

    Wow, that is AMAZING!! Hi, Phi, welcome to Stellar Blogging. 🙂

  5. January 21, 2009 3:41 pm

    i liked the song John Williams(my fav Composer) wrote and Yo Yo Ma performed(with other artists i do not know) and they were amazing! If you watch their hands they go real fast! I watched it at my school and got to see Biden inaugurated then when it got to obama the internet crashed…LOL. But when i saw the inauguration i thought “wow this is amazing” then looked around and me, being from republican state and a republican county..err lets just say im a blue dot surrounded by big red dots, and i thought “the feeling isnt mutual”. I am glad he is our president now!

  6. ζiρΦ7 permalink
    January 21, 2009 4:26 pm

    Surely (no I am not calling you Shirley) you have heard of Itzhak Perlman! He is a legend in his own time! He plays all the great scores for movies (John Williams major times). He has been on PBS so much I think he owns it. He appeared on Letterman to Sesame Street and Mr. Rogers. Maybe you just forgot.

  7. January 21, 2009 5:39 pm

    I actually haven’t heard of him… 😳 Sorry. Yes, YoYo Ma was excellent. Whenever I hear that name, I can’t help but think of a rapper. ❓
    I am a republican and am surrounded by blue dots! 🙂 We should switch!! 😉

  8. ζiρΦ7 permalink
    January 21, 2009 7:07 pm

    Well I was pretty sure Opus would have heard of him. He might have just forgot. Yo Yo Ma is brilliant. He probably could rap too!

  9. January 21, 2009 10:23 pm

    i need to live where you live stellar.. I am tired of these oklahoma hicks. 😆 I have only heard of Yo Yo Ma. He is a regular on A Prairie Home Companion.[zipo should know that program] During the whole song at the inauguration he looked jolly and silly when the others were being serious. LOL Yo Yo Ma rocks!And dont call me Shirley

  10. January 22, 2009 12:39 pm

    He did look kind of happy.. must have been really fun to play for the President Elect Obama.. 🙂

  11. January 22, 2009 12:43 pm

    Oh man, that was beautiful! It had to be one of the prettiest pieces of music I’ve heard in a long time. And he did seem pretty happy!

  12. ζiρΦ7 permalink
    January 22, 2009 3:07 pm

    I feel like I playing follow the leader. Ha! Yes Prairie Home Companion is a regular on my list.

    Obama was sworn in again. I understand this has happened twice before. Pres. Coolidge and Arthur did for various reasons as well. Very interesting. Never knew that! Learn something new every day. If you’re lucky.

  13. ζiρΦ7 permalink
    January 22, 2009 4:51 pm

    Say I just noticed a new header. FABULOUS!

  14. January 22, 2009 7:05 pm

    Thanks!! Do you think it matches the theme well?

  15. ζiρΦ7 permalink
    January 22, 2009 7:18 pm

    Yes indeed it does. I particularly like the way it balances out the page with your mighty fine Stellar widget. 😛

  16. January 22, 2009 9:16 pm

    I watched 5 minutes then got bored and turned the tv off.
    nice new header

  17. January 23, 2009 10:04 am

    Oh, I didn’t notice how it matched the widget!! 😉

  18. January 23, 2009 3:47 pm

    they showed it alot in the land of aus, i watched alot of the replays of the actual inaug. and i watched some of the parade. i couldn’t get up at 4am to watch it. hehe. theyre showing a replay of the whole thing today on some channels. and ummm…i forgot what i was going to say! glad youre feeling better and i love the new header and…yup!

  19. wurburt45348 permalink
    January 24, 2009 9:57 am

    i saw the inauguration… sry i havent been commenting on your site stell… busy. Im up for election for 3rd in command of a big army (uma) you probably never heard of them

  20. January 24, 2009 10:35 am

    Oh yes, Wurburt, I’ve heard of them. Who hasn’t been Club Penguin blogging for two years and not heard of UMA?? 😉
    Wow, I surprised they replayed the Inauguration that many times in Australia. They didn’t replay it that many times here in the US of A….

  21. ζiρΦ7 permalink
    January 27, 2009 4:02 pm

    On your blogroll: Antsrule and Justin deleted their site and Ants quit his own site. Sponge is password protected and totally gone. Violin has been gone for ages! I have left many comments, they never even show, so he has set it to moderation. Green is MIA…and left a pole. Ag doesn’t do his original site anymore. And Crysatal is thinking of quiting. Hope not.

    Well anyway, the blogroll just is kinda in limbo.

    MIA = missing in action.

  22. January 27, 2009 4:13 pm

    Ah… I supose I’ll do my blogroll later when I’m not lazy. Thanks for pointing that out, however!

  23. January 27, 2009 10:18 pm

    Hiya Stell, just commenting to say i won’t be around as much so don’t think i abandoned you OK? Cuz your my bud.

  24. January 28, 2009 9:24 am

    Ok, Crys!! I just figured you needed a little time off… everyone does!

  25. January 28, 2009 6:41 pm

    😉

Leave a Reply

